Stovetop Pizza in a Skillet

photo 5Pizza in a skillet? Made on a stove? Not in an oven?

Yep, and it was delicious! I decided that I am tired of not being able to make pizza. I had essentially given up on the idea since we moved into our apartment. I thought no oven automatically meant no pizza. The other day I was so in the mood for homemade pizza that I decided to throw caution to the wind and try stovetop pizza!

This is not a recipe for pizza dough and pizza sauce. I admit that I bought both of those things at Trader Joe’s because I really didn’t want to go to all the work of making things from scratch just to have my stovetop pizza come out burnt. But now that I know, perhaps I’ll make my own next time.

For now, here is the process for making stovetop pizza!

– INGREDIENTS –
1 bag of herb pizza dough from Trader Joe’s (or any dough you like, really)
2 tablespoons pizza sauce
1 sundried tomato sausage, thinly sliced
2 cups raw baby spinach
1/2 large yellow bell pepper, sliced in strips
1 small tomato (I used Roma)
1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup shredded havarti cheese

– PROCESS –
Begin with your largest skillet. Mine was a 10″. Spray with non-stick spray and then lightly flour the bottom. You don’t want this pizza sticking, because you will be flipping the dough more than once.

Put your stove on low to medium heat. Don’t be in a hurry and put the heat higher. You want it to cook slowly, like an oven ๐Ÿ™‚

photo 1On a floured surface, roll out your dough to the size you need for your pan. Place in skillet and press down so it takes on the shape of the edge, if it even reaches the edges of the pan at all. Mine was kind of oddly shaped! Imperfection is beauty, right?

photo 2Place a cover on your pan and let it bake for 3-4 minutes. Once the dough has begun to brown a little, but the top is still very soft, carefully flip the dough over. With the spatula, press the dough down gently into the pan to work out some air bubbles and re-shape it.

Put the top back on and let it bake for 2-3 minutes.

photo 3Now it’s time to put on your toppings! Spread out your sauce, put on your meat and veggies, top with the cheese. I usually put the tomatoes on top. I think they get mushy when they are under the cheese. Just a personal preference.

Put the top on the pan and let it bake for 10 minutes or until the cheese has melted. You can take the top off periodically to check the bottom of your pizza too, to make sure it isn’t burning. If it seems like it is browning too quickly, turn the heat down.

photo 4Once done, gently slide the pizza out of the skillet onto a cutting board. Slice and serve!

2 thoughts on “Stovetop Pizza in a Skillet

Leave a Reply

