Try Something New Tuesday – Quinoa Flour Bread

Quinoa Flour is fairly new to me.  Not completely new, but new enough to be a part of Try Something New Tuesday.  I will be doing this weekly to motivate myself and you to try new things regularly.

photo 1Anyways, with my husband’s new diet, I have been looking into yeast-free breads.  We need it to be yeast-free and as low in carbs as possible.  On an investigatory trip to Sprouts we discovered that we will have to plan to pay at least $6 a loaf for bread he can eat.  I refuse to do that.  So I have begun experimenting with my own bread!

Experiment number one failed miserably.  It tasted fine, but was about an inch thich, not exactly ideal for sandwiches.

So today I have tried something new.  I am still using quinoa flour because of the high protein content and the fact that it is gluten free.  I adjusted the amount of baking soda, and I added extra milk to make the consistency closer to pancake batter than bread dough.  And I am making my bread in a skillet.  Individual “slices” of bread.  I avoid the rising problems caused by lack of yeast and I can control the size of the slices.

– INGREDIENTS –
2 1/2 cups quinoa flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
2/3 teaspoon salt
2 cups vanilla soymilk
1/8 cup butter, melted
2 tablespoons shredded coconut

– PROCESS –
Heat up a large skillet on low to medium heat. You can use coconut oil or non stick spray. Coconut oil crisps the slices, whereas non stick spray leaves the bread a little softer.

Mix your dry ingredients in a large bowl. Melt the butter and add it in with the soymilk. Add the wet ingredients and stir well.

photo 2Pour two pieces of bread a time, being careful to make them a similar size.

photo 3Place a cover over your pan and let cook for 3-4 mintues. Flip bread over and let cook for another 2 minutes. You will end up with one side much flatter than the other. This is where your sandwich toppings will go.

Let cool and then store in a sealed plastic bag.

photo 4This bread is nutty, full of protein, gluten free, yeast free…and delicious! I like it topped with peanut butter and honey personally.

One thought on “Try Something New Tuesday – Quinoa Flour Bread

Leave a Reply

