Orange Honey Balsamic Chicken

84F85396-4782-43BD-95E1-0F6545F99A3FI have been thoroughly enjoying the oranges my friend gave me the other day. I knew my husband and I just wouldn’t get to all of them before they started rotting, so I spent some time juicing a large percentage of them. Juice came out great!

I was left with a lot of orange peels afterward though. A LOT. Ordinarily I would throw away the peel, but it just seemed wasteful to take that much organic material and throw it out!

I decided to make a meat marinade out of some of the peels. I took a mason jar and filled it with washed orange peels. Then I added honey and balsamic vinegar. I shook the bottle and stuck it in my fridge overnight to let all the flavors mix.

5EF75043-3A38-469E-A6BF-201FFE69650CThus is born my orange honey balsamic chicken!

– INGREDIENTS –
Clean, leftover peels from some oranges (or lemons if that’s what you’ve got lying around)
1/2 cup honey
1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
1/2 cup vegetable stock
3 chicken breasts
1 butternut squash

– PROCESS –
Grab a mason jar ( or any sealed container) and fill it with orange peels. Add honey and vinegar and shake. Place in the refrigerator overnight.

In the morning shake again. Pour some of the mix into the crockpot along with 1/2 cup vegetable stock. Place chicken on top and then pour the rest of the marinade on top of that.

96E71590-37D2-4C6D-A527-C301E92C4587Slice up your squash, scoop out seeds, and put skin-side down on top of the chicken.

C841A9BB-CF44-4064-BC8A-D0AADA4CF9F4Cook on high for four hours.  Mash up your squash and garnish with something bright!photo 2

 

 

Leave a comment