Coconut Carrot Pumpkin Soup

Coconut carrot soup cupBased on the name of the blog “Cake in a CrockPot”, you may have thought there would be only slowcooker recipes. Au contraire! I am including recipes that make the most efficient use of a tiny kitchen. One of my favorite kitchen items has become my dutch oven. One pot on my two burner stove and I’m done!

DutchovenBecause of the rain we’ve been having in San Diego (as opposed to the snow falling elsewhere) I have been making tons of soup! This is one of my favorites. It requires a dutch oven (or just a heavy pot) and a blender.

Carrots onion bell pepper•INGREDIENTS•
1 small onion (I prefer red, but any will do)
5 carrots (unpeeled, roughly chopped)
1 cup pumpkin purée
1/2 large red bell pepper
1 can light coconut milk
1 1/2 cups water
1 tablespoon coconut oil
Salt
White pepper
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

Start with melting the coconut oil in your Dutch oven. Roughly chop your onion and sauté for two minutes.

Add in the chopped carrots and bell pepper. Cook for ten minutes.

Add in coconut milk and water (I typically pour in coconut milk and then fill up the empty can with water instead of measuring water separately). Also add the pumpkin purée. Turn stove to low and let cook for twenty-five minutes.

After the veggies have cooked and softened, put the soup in the blender and blend until smooth. Return to pan and add spices and then season to taste. I prefer white pepper, but you can use black pepper. Garnish with a sprinkle of nutmeg.

I like my soup in a mug for some strange reason 🙂Coconutcarrotsouptop

Leave a Reply

